Unconscious Ritual

During the Summer I spent much of my time experimenting with an open source sound editor called Audacity. It’s as basic as it gets, but using my webcam microphone I was able to make various home recordings and manipulate them into unusual and often ‘dark’ ambient soundscapes. I was partly motivated by a desire to create my own meditative soundtracks, rather than rely on the works of other exceptionally brilliant ambient artists such as Steve Hillage, Michael Stearns, Wendy Carlos, Staruha Mha, among many others.

music cover

Click image to download music

All of my experiments can be listened to and downloaded at Last.fm, and exclusively for this blog I’ve put together four tracks under the title Unconscious Ritual for anyone interested in downloading and sampling for yourselves.

The download is free (containing 4 mp3s) and available over at the Internet Archive (Unconscious Ritual)

Unconscious Ritual Tracklist

  1. Hringhorni: (3:02)
  2. an inauguration of a tenth level weaver into the Butu society: (10:35)
  3. Lykaia: (6:00)
  4. Callanish: (10:46)

(thresh*ld) creates ambient soundscapes that are dark, primal and ritualistic in nature, often containing industrial elements. Tracks are sometimes short snapshots of occult realities or extended shamanistic/meditational pieces.

Last.fm: (thresh*ld)

2 Responses to “Unconscious Ritual”

  1. Erik Says:

    I finally had a chance to listen to these today – I think you’ve really got something! Particularly Hringhorni, I found that very evocative… looking forward to checking out the others on last.fm this weekend.

  2. mahud Says:

    Thanks Erik! It’s great that you checked them out =)

    I intended to use Hringhorni as the melody for a more atmospheric track, but it worked so well on its own.

Leave a comment